A Nest of Aromatic Potatoes

aromaticPotatoes

How clever it is to infuse potatoes with flavor while they’re cooking! This is another wonderful find in David Tannis’ One Good Dish Cookbook. As I was making the pork loin I decided that even if David’s advice was to go the authentic route and pair my Vietnamese “not-ribs” with rice, I had a big ol’ bowl full of potatoes that needed to be used, so I went the typical “meat & potatoes” route instead. And whether or not the two flavors truly went together, I don’t have that discerning of a palette to understand the faux pas, and therefore deemed it a-ok to do for a weekday meal.

I have to say, though, with the amount of herbs this book requires in each dish, I think I have to double the size of my herb garden this year! C’mon, Spring!

Steamed New Potatoes with Aromatics

From One Good Dish, by David Tannis

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds new potatoes, 1 1/2 to 2 inches
  • 1 small bunch of thyme
  • a few rosemary sprigs
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon black peppercorns
  • 1 head garlic, separated into cloves but not peeled
  • salt

Directions

  1. Scrub the potatoes but do not peel.
  2. Put the thyme, rosemary, bay leaves, peppercorns, and garlic cloves in a wide heavy pot.
  3. Add the potatoes in one layer and enough water to barely cover.
  4. Sprinkle with 2 teaspoons of salt.
  5. Put on lid and bring to a hard boil.
  6. Reduce the heat slightly to maintain a rapid simmer and cook, covered, for about 15 minutes.
  7. Check the potatoes to with a skewer to make sure they have cooked through.
  8. Turn off the heat and leave the potatoes for at least 10 minutes, or up to 30 minutes. (Because my potatoes were bigger (2-3 inches in size), I left my potatoes in for 20 minutes & they turned out great)
  9. To serve, drain the potatoes and put them in a serving bowl, with the aromatics still clinging to them.

//You can also pull the aromatics out of the pot, shape them into little nests on individual plates and place the potatoes on top. Serve with a dollop of butter alongside the potatoes on a cooled bay leaf and you’ve created a lovely rustic presentation!

DSC00906

 

A Nest of Aromatic Potatoes

Leave a comment